Happy Birthday Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.!

I have been really thinking about our freedoms and how far we have come in the past 50 years.  I attended church yesterday (Unitarian Universalist of Bloomington-Normal) and I had an emotional revelation.  I am a part of a group of people that has and continues to feel the discrimination that colored people have felt.  No, colored people are not considered equal everywhere, but they have come a long way.  For instance, the recent posting of an apartment tenant blatantly showed discrimination, but we now have many colored CEOs and business owners.  Colored heterosexual couples can also marry whomever they choose, regardless of color.  My group of people cannot do that yet.

So yesterday, when I was in church and listening to parts of Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King’s speeches, the words touched me in a new way.  Not only have I had an emotional attachment to his words pleading for justice for colored people, I now feel the impact of those words as a lesbian.

I retrieved quotes from King’s “I Have a Dream” speech from: http://abcnews.go.com/Politics/martin-luther-kings-speech-dream-full-text/story?id=14358231#.TxRSraWPlPI

“It would be fatal for the nation to overlook the urgency of the moment and to underestimate the determination of the Negro. This sweltering summer of the Negro’s [LGBT community] legitimate discontent will not pass until there is an invigorating autumn of freedom and equality. Nineteen sixty-three is not an end, but a beginning. Those who hope that the Negro [LGBT community] needed to blow off steam and will now be content will have a rude awakening if the nation returns to business as usual. There will be neither rest nor tranquility in America until the Negro [LGBT community] is granted his citizenship rights. The whirlwinds of revolt will continue to shake the foundations of our nation until the bright day of justice emerges.”

I believe in social justice so strongly that it hurts.  It disappoints me when I see innocent people burned, raped, and denied rights because of who they love.  That’s all-Just who they love.  I will not rest until I educate as many as I can about the importance of social justice and educational equality.

“In the process of gaining our rightful place we must not be guilty of wrongful deeds. Let us not seek to satisfy our thirst for freedom by drinking from the cup of bitterness and hatred.”

I cannot harden my heart and fill my mind with anger and frustration.  I must continue to love and pray that people will open their eyes and their hearts to all people.  Having a rebellious mind will not give us justice.  Education, peace, love and being a living example is what our world needs to see and experience.

“And as we walk, we must make the pledge that we shall march ahead. We cannot turn back. There are those who are asking the devotees of civil rights, ‘When will you be satisfied?’ We can never be satisfied as long as our bodies, heavy with the fatigue of travel, cannot gain lodging in the motels of the highways and the hotels of the cities. We cannot be satisfied as long as the Negro’s basic mobility is from a smaller ghetto to a larger one. We can never be satisfied as long as a Negro in Mississippi cannot vote and a Negro in New York believes he has nothing for which to vote. No, no, we are not satisfied, and we will not be satisfied until justice rolls down like waters and righteousness like a mighty stream.”

We cannot be satisfied until jobs are allowed for all, and marriage for all people in every state is legal.

“I have a dream that one day this nation will rise up and live out the true meaning of its creed: ‘We hold these truths to be self-evident: that all men are created equal.’”

We are equal.  We are humans.  We bleed.  We breathe.  We share our land and all components within it.  Why can’t everyone see that?  Who we love does not make up who we are.  I hope I am alive to see same sex marriage legal in our country.  I hope I am alive to hold hands with my love and not get looks and negativity.  I hope I am alive to not have to justify who I am and why I love who I love.  It would be nice to see us just be people and not have to define who we are based on orientation or color.  It would be nice to just be people who make up this world and contribute to healthy living and a healthier Earth.  It would be nice…

*Question*How much do you know about MLK?  Do your kids understand the true meaning of Civil Rights?

It’s okay to be gay,

Bre

 

 

Leave a Reply

