Management Strategies for 1:1 BlogPost #3

Knowing that we are going to discuss 1:1 in class this week, I wanted to take the time to learn from experts about 1:1.  I honestly am still a little confused as to what my part is in 1:1 and what exactly it means, but the blog I found was informative.  Rich Kiker gave five 1:1 management strategies for teachers.

Some ideas that I found important were highlighted on http://1to1schools.net/. They are as follows:

Yup, tell them that a teacher doesn’t know every­thing, put your­self in a vul­ner­a­ble posi­tion.  At the same time you will build a cul­ture of hon­esty, a value for life-long learn­ing, and dis­play a trans­par­ent and vested inter­est in the suc­cess of your stu­dents.

No mat­ter what your sub­ject, there is an oppor­tu­nity to pro­mote proper and mean­ing­ful use.  Our roles as edu­ca­tors will not be fully real­ized unless we are able to guide stu­dents toward becom­ing skilled and capa­ble cit­i­zens with an appre­ci­a­tion for knowl­edge.

My response:

Rich,
I am new to a lot of this ed tech “stuff.” I am tak­ing an Edu­ca­tional Tech­nol­ogy course and have learned more than I can grasp at the moment. The next topic at hand is 1:1. I am very happy to see that there is advice out there for 1:1. Out of the five strate­gies for man­age­ment, I really appre­ci­ated the advice to become per­sonal and hon­est with the stu­dents. Let­ting them know that I don’t know every­thing and that I am learn­ing as well is impor­tant for my stu­dents. I also agree with the oppor­tu­ni­ties to max­i­mize cit­i­zen­ship oppor­tu­ni­ties. It is impor­tant for stu­dents to have appro­pri­ate dig­i­tal cit­i­zen­ship and 1:1 will be a lot more suc­cess­ful with great cit­i­zens. Thanks so much for your man­age­ment advice!

 

Leave a Reply

