A Cool Technological Tool for Diverse Learners Blog Post #2

I came across Philly Teacher, which is written by Mary Beth Hertz.  She wrote an interesting blog in regards to a vocabulary tool in the form of a comic book, Super-Powered Word Study by James Bucky Carter & Erik A. Evensen.  I was instantly drawn in!  She is offering a free copy to a teacher that comments about how it will help his or her class.  The comment with the most thumbs up wins.  I didn’t try to win the copy, but I definitely commented about this tool.

http://philly-teacher.blogspot.com/2011/03/super-powered-word-study-teaching-with.html

Ms. Hertz states: This is not a simple ‘comics will make kids want to read’ book. The authors James Bucky Carter and Erik A Evensen have created a systematic approach to using comics to teach students how to decode words based on their Latin roots.  Their materials and methods are based on research on how the brain learns.

I responded:

Ms. Mary Beth Hertz,

I enjoyed reading about this new-age technology for kids!  I occasionally scan different articles and blogs, but when I came across this blog, I stopped looking!  As a teacher for ten years, I could have definitely used this! The great addition to this is the CD. I read that Super-Power Word Study is a systematic approach to using comics to teach students how to decode words based on their Latin roots.  Their materials and methods are based on research on how the brain learns.” I truly appreciate multiliteracies that assist with diverse learners, because they create a different approach to learning. I also loved the mention of students wanting to read it for fun in addition to their lessons.  When students find something they enjoy, we need to take advantage of that.  This comic book for learning vocabulary is a great technological tool!

Leave a Reply

